Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


DogsDontPurr

Sewing Genie FAQ

The first original posts about the Sewing Genie....from beginning to end:

2002-04-16 - 12:59 p.m.

I just ordered a Sewing Genie!

Yeah....so I never sew!...but it's just like the commercial says, I never sew because I don't want to drag out my great big 2 ton monolith of a sewing machine that I don't know how to use anyway....and, like the commercial says, anyone can use the Sewing Genie!!

I had to have one (but why???..Nevermind why!) So...I ordered it off their web page....and let me tell you, there's a few things you need to know, in case you wanted one for yourself. After you have completed your order, or think you have, they offer you about a thousand more accessories for the the thing (some of which you're not sure you really need, but feel obligated to buy). So the price in the end is not really $39.95...it's much, much more!! And also they give you the opportunity to buy additional Sewing Genies at a huge discount!!! This means that if all your friends want one (and you know they do), don't order them separately....order one, go through check out, then you can order all the additional ones at the special secret discount price! Genius!

But lastly, you need to know, that after you go through all that, and you finally have your order completely completed, they tell you you'll have to wait 4 to 6 weeks for your order! Four to six weeks?!?!?!? Where's my instant gratification?!?! This is the internet!!! Everything you order on the internet is supposed to arrive almost immediately!! That's why I order from the internet!! 4 to 6 weeks is an eternity! I might change my mind by then...I could learn how to use my two ton monster by then!!

Well...when I finally get it (about a thousand years from now!) I'll let you know...until then, stay tuned.....

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-06-04 - 9:47 p.m.

Hello to all you Sewing Genie people!

For those of you who don't know what I'm talking about....some weeks ago, I ordered a Sewing Genie. I still haven't received it yet.....but what I have received is about a million google searches for the thing!! What I would really like to know is....are you all the same person?? Or are millions of people searching for the same thing and ending up at my site??? It would be really cool if everyone who arrives here in search of the Genie would leave a comment, or sign my guest book or my guest map.....maybe I should set up a Sewing Genie map!!!

Anyway.....I don't mean to be making fun of the Genie.....I am intriged by all the interest it has generated. And as I said above, I still haven't got it....and it's been about 6 weeks or so. It's been sooo long in fact, that the shipping address I used is no longer my shipping address.....at this point, it may or may not have been forwarded on to another address, about 400 miles from where I am now. If that is the case, I will find out this weekend if it is there.....then it will be forwarded (again!) to me next week. However....I am only postulating this to be true, since there is no way to track the order....and if you call.....trust me, you don't want to call.......unless you'd like to spend your eternity waiting on hold. But I will give you the full details, if it ever arrives.

In the mean time, stick around, you Sewing Genie people!! Make yourself at home....keep yourself entertained and read my stories until the darned thing arrives!!! (also check my archives for tips on ordering your own....and there are things you need to know!)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-06-06 - 11:33 p.m.

Yay! I have the Sewing Genie!!

It's funny I was just ranting that it was taking so long to get the thing, that my shipping address had changed...then today we get an email saying that it's there(at the old address) waiting to be picked up! Well, it's taken about 8 weeks to get there....but finally I have it.

Now, according to my readers, some have received their Sewing Genies much more quickly....but, they also say that the thing is a bit noisy. Well, I haven't tried mine out yet....I've only just got it out of the box. And getting it out of the box can be an important maneuver: I ordered the accessory power adapter (you must order this, unless you have an unlimited supply of batteries)....at first, I didn't think they had included it in the box! Then, as I unwrapped the thing, I found that they had tucked it inside the Sewing Genie....but then....I thought they had packed the adapter instead of the "foot pedal"! Oh no! But, as I was throwing away all the extra packaging, I happened to notice that one piece of packaging had the foot pedal hidden inside of it!! So make sure you examine every piece of packing material !

I guess I'm writing all this because I'm skeptical of all those "as seen on TV" things...but at the same time fascinated enough to order something! Please keep giving me your comments....we all want to know! And I will continue to give you updates as I try to get the "Genie" up and working! Stay tuned!!!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The saga continues: Today I threaded the Genie.

First, let me say.....when you get your Sewing Genie and you need help (and you will), I am here to help...somewhat. If you have never sewn before...or it's been at least 15 years since your last sew....threading the thing for the first time can be a chore. (It took me almost a whole bottle of wine to get that darned thing threaded!) The instruction manual just does not cut the mustard. As an example, they use the term "pressure foot," "presser foot," (and my favorite) "puesser foot" to refer to the same thing. It's very confusing. And at least one of their photos on how to thread the bobbin is completely incorrect. (I will try to post a more helpful photo tomorrow....since this was my most difficult stumbling block...and now I have it figured out.)

Maybe if you are good at sewing....perhaps if you sew all the time....this might have been quite easy. But the commercial leads one to believe that you can just whip the thing out and start sewing! Well....think again! However....I was actually able to get the machine threaded with a new color of thread and sew about 3 inches of test material....and about one inch came out fine. Yay!

So really...the hard part is over! It seems to work. It is a bit loud....but not terribly so.......alhough I haven't heard a sewing machine in a long time....I'm sure those new super deluxe ones are as quiet as a luxury car. (And just as heavy!) When I last sewed, they sounded like a diesel truck in need of a tune up! The Genie considerably quieter.

Tomorrow I will attempt to make something tangible......stay tuned!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2002-06-10 - 6:34 p.m.

Alright....this is my last post about the Sewing Genie....and then I will move on to a new topic...I promise! My end all feeling is that it's worth the money....if you want one, go ahead and buy it....but make sure you get the power adapter (they offer you this at the end, after you think you've placed your order....they also offer other accessories then too....I recommend getting them, since there is no way to order these things later....at least, not that I know of.) The only real draw back that I can see, is that the thing is sooo tiny, it might be difficult if you were working with a big piece of fabric. Also, there is no reverse.....so that adds the extra step of having to stop, and turn the material around if you want to go back over a seam. And there is only one type of stitch available....but it should do for most projects.

Other than that, I think it's great....it might even encourage me to sew more because it's sooo small, and easy to use (once you get it threaded!!). I was actually able to sew a pillow case (woo hoo!!) with some heavy weight fabric, and it worked just fine. (Don't know about slinky, light weight fabric, yet....my guess is that might be a speck more difficult.)

Oh...and about that threading thing....I know I promised a picture, but I couldn't seem to take one that would be helpful.....so my advice is.....look carefully at how the bobbin is placed, before you take it out....look at it and memorize exactly how the white dots line up...the picture in the manual is not correct.

Anyway....good luck.....keep giving me your comments....I want to hear how it works out for you.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BACK to Sewing Genie FAQ main page

HOME

previous - next

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
testing!!!!

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Of course, you know, all of this is copy right protected. None of this information may be reproduced without my permission.